President’s Concert Feb. 4

© Henderson State University

President’s Concert performers from 2013 are pictured with HSU President Dr. Glen Jones.

Henderson State University’s Department of Music will present its annual President’s Concert in the Russell Fine Arts Harwood Recital Hall on Feb. 4 at 7:30 p.m. The program features student soloists who were selected as winners of a competition that took place in November.

“The opportunity for some of our best students to perform solo works accompanied by an orchestra including members of the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra is one of the highlights of our entire year,” said Dr. Steven Becraft, coordinator of the competition. “This year’s winners were selected from 18 competitors by three impartial judges, and the level of talent was extremely high.”

Soloists include: Elijah Sullivan, a trombonist from Westville, Okla., who will perform the third movement of the Grondahl Trombone Concerto; Matthew Walker, a countertenor from Hot Springs, will perform “Parto, parto” from Mozart’s opera La Clemenza di Tito; Hunter Mabery, a pianist from Murfreesboro, will perform the first movement of Mozart’s Concerto No. 23 in A major; and Orlando Riveros, a pianist from Asunción, Paraguay, will perform Chopin’s Andante spianato et Grande Polonaise Brillante.

Dr. Maralyn Sommer, interim provost and vice president for academic affairs, will be honored during the concert. Sommer established the President’s Concert in 2001 while she was dean of Henderson’s Ellis College of Arts and Sciences. She will be retiring at the end this spring semester.

Past President’s Concert honorees include: Dr. Glen Jones, Bobby Jones, Dr. Charles Welch, Dr. Charles Dunn, Dr. John G. Hall, the Board of Trustees, Betty Bruner, Eugene Kuyper, Jesse Branch, Paul Barringer, Mary Ella Clark, Diamond Valley Chapter of the American Red Cross, the Ross Foundation and Southern Bancorp.

The concert is free and open to the public. For more information, please contact Becraft at 230-5412 or